Home > Our Work > Blog > Pinelands Commission Appointments

Pinelands Commission Appointments

A complete Pinelands Commission is within sight!



The Pinelands Commission is comprised of fifteen members, seven of whom are nominated by the governor, one appointed by each of the seven Pinelands Counties (Atlantic, Burlington, Camden, Cape May, Cumberland, Gloucester, Ocean), and one federal representative from the Department of the Interior. Members of the Commission serve staggered three-year terms, but, once their terms expire, they continue in office until replaced or they resign. The Governor appoints the Chair of the Commission.

Pinelands Commissioners have final say with regards to all rule changes and all development activities regulated by the Pinelands Comprehensive Management Plan (CMP). View the list of Pinelands Commissioners on the state’s website.

In recent years, the Pinelands Commission has approved several developments in violation of the plain terms and intent of the Pinelands Protection Act and CMP. The Commission has also moved to diminish the voices and rights of the public in their process and has failed to enact common-sense and critical policies. We are working with Counties to ensure that their representatives on the Commission are chosen through a fair and transparent process. It is essential that the governor also make new nominations of conservation-minded individuals, and that the state Senate confirm these nominations.

Gov. Murphy Makes Pinelands Commission Nominations

On September 29th Governor Murphy made two nominations for the Pinelands Commission. The first of these nominees, former DEP Commissioner Mark Mauriello, was sworn into the role at the January 13, 2022 meeting of the Commission. Things have progressed more slowly for Murphy’s second nominee, Jessica Sanchez, Ph.D. Her nomination to the Pinelands Commission has cleared the hurdle of senatorial courtesy and will soon be considered for confirmation by the NJ Senate Judiciary Committee. 

Gubernatorial appointee Davon McCurry recently stepped down, so Governor Murphy has the opportunity to nominate another person to the Commission. Former state Sen. Nicholas Asselta is filling the remainder of the current term for the Cumberland County seat on the Commission that was recently vacated by Jane Jannarone. You can see the current line-up of Commissioners on the website of the Pinelands Commission.

Questions? Contact Policy Director, Heidi Yeh. She can be reached at Heidi@PinelandsAlliance.org or by phone at 609-859-8860 ext. 122.

News, Events & More

Stay Connected